The Most Reluctant Convert: An Extended Movie Review

Back in 2021, I wrote a review of The Most Reluctant Convert directed by Norman Stone. I think I can safely say it was an unusual review, if for no other reason because I didn’t find the movie as strange as some of my friends found it. But I’d seen the one-man stage play it was based on (as well as a production of The Screwtape Letters by the same group). So I wasn’t quite surprised when The Most Reluctant Convert turned out to be an interesting experiment, not quite a filmed play and not quite a standard biopic.

I was able to get my original review published by the Evangelical Church Library Association’s website, where I’ve enjoyed contributing book reviews in the past. I think technically that review was the first time I’d had a movie review published anywhere outside my blog.

At any rate, a few months later, an extended version of that movie review was published by Fellowship & Fairydust, which includes some sidetrails I omitted from the first version (mostly involving my thoughts on the 2019 Tolkien biopic). You can read the review here:

If you enjoyed this article, here are some other pieces of movie content I’ve written over the years:

Thoughts on Daniel Lowry’s The Green Knight

Christian Horror Movies?

3 Unusual Christian Movies Worth Watching

Can Movies Show God? (God in Film Pt 1)

Macbeth, Apologetics and Cosmology

George Lucas, Apocalypse Now, and Early Films

10 Great Movies about Outsiders

The Cinematic Mr. Ripley: Introducing A MovieThoughts Series

Leave a comment