Simple Things

1 Corinthians 1:25-29

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY: “But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise.” 1 Corinthians 1:26a NIV

During a trip to Asia, a friend and I volunteered at a foster home. One particular day, the caregivers asked us to take some of the kids with disabilities to a playground. Once we arrived, one of the older boys showed me a rubber ball he’d brought. We began playing catch. Nothing complicated, we just tossed the ball back and forth over and over again. I learned later that I actually spent two hours playing that game of catch.

I learned later that I actually spent two hours playing that game of catch.

As the caregivers arrived and my friend and I gathered everyone up to leave, the boy came over and hugged me like I was his best friend. When one of the caregivers heard how much time I’d spent with him, she almost started crying. She thanked me repeatedly for being so kind. Apparently, not many people were willing to spend so much time with kids like him.

Sometimes it’s the simple, seemingly insignificant things that have great impact.

PRAYER: Lord, help me to follow you even when the things I’m doing seem unimportant.

(This article published in “Follow Me, YC 2017,” Taylor University’s 2017 Youth Conference Devotional. Soon to be collected in the eBook “Scraps of Heaven”)

One thought on “Simple Things

Leave a Reply

